RSS Feed

I Have an Ethical Dilemma!


Well, not really. I know right from wrong. But I’m hoping I can convince myself there’s some gray area here.

So. If you read my post yesterday, you know I’m doing a “Get Rid Of 1000 Things” challenge. And after just a couple of hours, I was able to get rid of 120 things. Not great, but a start. And since then I’ve been thinking about other things that could go.

BUT. Then I went shopping. I bought a little of this, and a little of that. Not a lot. Just some. And some of it is going into a scrapbook album (which is technically just one thing, and does adding stickers to it – eventually – count as more stuff?) So. Here’s the ethical dilemma. (You can see this coming!) Do I have to add those things to the things I subtracted yesterday, thus reducing the number of things I got rid of?

I’m thinking yes. Except maybe not the stickers? And the bottle of paint is just replacing an empty one that I didn’t count as getting rid of something, so that should be a wash, right?

And what about boxes? If you take something out of a box, but you keep the thing and get rid of the box, does that count, since the box takes up more room?

I think I’m looking for some enabling here! Heeheehee!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

8 responses »

  1. Then, Janet, I guess I’m your gal! I try to look at purging things as “giving someone else the opportunity to re-purpose them”. A gift. That way they are not languishing unappreciated in my home as my interests and needs evolve. I think evolving is pretty darn necessary if we don’t want to become extinct, right?

    Reply
    • You’re right, of course, but still…it’s my “stuff!” I’m starting to wonder why I’m doing this to myself. Oh, yeah, I was starting to feel a little claustrophobic. So what’s a little claustrophobia in the grand scheme of things?

      ________________________________

      Reply
  2. I’m not sure that I’d say you have to subtract the new things from what you threw out, after all, out is out !
    But the boxes – no – keeping the thing and throwing out the box won’t wash – nice try ! 🙂

    Reply
  3. I read a book a number of years ago that said for everything you bring into your house, get rid of the same number of items. Like I said, I read it. No, I haven’t done it.

    Reply
    • Ha! Well, this house isn’t full yet, so I think I have a little wiggle room there, but I get the concept. There IS some physics involved.

      ________________________________

      Reply
  4. I think the point is to get you thinking about these things. So I say give yourself a pat on the back. Then keep thinking about what you can donate or recycle, do you really need to buy more ____ etc

    Reply
    • I really am! I think the whole point in blogging is to get us all thinking about things we might not have on our own! Thanks for the pep talk!

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

