RSS Feed

Housework Done Properly…


Housework done properly can kill you. Yup. It’s true. Or at least that’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

The nice thing about buying a new house is that it is soooooo clean. No chips or paint transfer on the baseboards, no dirt buildup in the corners that got painted over, clean window slides…the list goes on.

The worst part of having a five year old house is that you KNOW every speck of dirt in it is your fault, either because you did it, or didn’t clean it up.

I’ve never been much of a housekeeper, although I’ve always been substantially better than my mother. It’s not that I don’t know how, or don’t like a clean house, I’ve just always had better things to do. Who wants to be cleaning when you can be playing with the kids, gardening, shopping, decorating, or any one of a hundred different things.

Plus, I’ve always subscribed to the theory that cleaning your house while the kids are still growing is like shoveling the driveway while it’s still snowing…

But now my kids are grown, and I still don’t like doing it. It’s one of those thankless jobs that no one notices unless it ISN’T done!

But, I can only go so long until I just HAVE to stop what I’m doing and clean up. The clutter gets to be too much, the dust bunnies have become dust mountain lions, and the 3 second rule for eating things that fall on the floor might land you in the ER.

So, I took a break and cleaned. Not so much as to injure myself, but enough that you can tell. A bit more than a lick and a promise. The floors aren’t gross, the carpet looks great, and dusting is done. Clutter in the main part of the house is cleaned up (except in those areas I’m using for my art because I can’t get to the table in the studio!) It made me feel good enough that I allowed myself to play all afternoon.

And if I pick a cracker up off the floor fast enough and shove it in my mouth, I’ll live. That’s good enough.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. MY friend has a funny sign in her kitchen that says “whenever I get the urge to do housework I lie down until the feeling passes” which given your last post you may be familiar with… but I always smile when I see it. I am not much of a housekeeper either, except when I need to get into the studio for a looming deadline, then I clean anything & everything! Earlier this week I ended up cleaning the whole china cabinet because I was supposed to be working on goal setting for my artist’s bootcamp. But I do have a clutter threshold which I have tackled by giving most of our stuff away. Less stuff = less cleaning!

    Reply
    • Hahahaha! That sounds like me! The girls who worked with me at the store knew I was stressed when I started sweeping! And come to think of it, I STILL use cleaning as an excuse to avoid something else! I guess I need to get more things on my plate that I DON’T like to do!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  2. Oh man, you are right on when you said it’s only noticed by others when it gets really dirty! Mr. Cottage was raised by a mother who loved to keep her house spotless, while I was raised by a mother who loved to cook and do other things vs having a clean house. So needless to say, Mr. Cottage has had to lighten up his expectations of me, cause I’m definetely not like his mother!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

