RSS Feed

I Need a Junk Fix!


I’m all set to go to a fabulous junk show, called Junk Bonanza as part of a retreat I’ll be attending in September. It has been put together by a couple of friends of mine, Linda Barutha and Kris Binsfeld. You can read more about it and learn how to attend the retreat at Linda’s event blog. But I don’t know if I can wait that long. I’m having junk withdrawal symptoms bad, and I don’t know how to deal with them.

Denio’s in Roseville has junk. But it’s not cool junk, more like stuff that was junk when it was new. I’m looking for stuff that was good when it was new, but has been seriously neglected, left in the rain to rust or otherwise been mistreated. The stuff that everyone in California seems to know is good stuff underneath it all and charges way too much for. Like rusty metal funnels and beat up cake pans, and pieces of old wooden columns. Old window frames, beat up old typewriters, door knobs, mis-matched pottery and silverware. You know, cool junk.

I have a ton of ideas for ways to re-purpose this stuff, but I don’t want to spend a lot on it.

I have some decorating restraints that keep me from doing exactly what I want (like a husband who isn’t really into junk, but will tolerate bits of it here and there.) So all my furniture is pretty much new, but designed to look a bit on the old-fashioned side. Now I want to accent with some real junky stuff. Not the made in Taiwan to look junky stuff, but real junky stuff.

My friend Kathleen (thanks loads, btw!) posted a picture of something she found on Pinterest, and I made the mistake of following links and found some of the most amazing treasures. I hadn’t been on Pinterest for weeks, maybe even a month – pretty much on the self-imposed wagon. Now I’ve jumped back off and have been combing the “vintage” (nice fancy word for junk) pages and just LUSTING for some of these things. I mean seriously lusting. It’s not a pretty sight.

This is one of my favorite newly discovered re-purposed things I can hardly wait to make –

How stinkin’ cute is that?

As Hannah and Bea would say “That looks just like you, Gaga! Old and rusty!”

Even without the ruffly bottom layer (which may be a challenge to find), it’s beyond hecka cutely awesome!  …I can almost guarantee you there is one in my future!

I just remembered there is a junk store I haven’t been to yet up in Auburn. Hmmmm…wonder if the girls would be up for a little ride tomorrow? I could bribe them with the use of their ipads.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

10 responses »

  1. here’s hoping all your junk dreams come true 🙂

    Reply
  2. I can’t wait to see what you find and create!!!

    Reply
    • The girls got involved with their doll house this morning, so junkin’ may get shelved ’till another day. But that’s okay, we’re all happy!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  3. I love going on a “hunt”. You never know what you might come home with. Just curious, will you be coming to the retreat in April or are you just going the the Sept. one?

    Reply
  4. cherishdesigns

    Super excited to share Junk Bonanza with you! You are going to be totally amazed! No dissapointment to be found!!! 🙂 sorry for your sad state of junking in your area!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

