RSS Feed

I Am A Political Animal


I have a love/hate relationship with politics, just like I do with bathroom scales.

I came to blogging by way of politics. My very first blog comment was on a political blog site back in 2008 and I ended up having my own “blog” on this well known site (they since have stopped hosting the individual blogs) and later on another, less famous, but equally stimulating site.

I cut my blogging teeth on making a point, then discussing and defending it with and against people with REAL street creds out in the real political world. It was a sometimes contentious, but always interesting pursuit. I surprised myself by being able to keep up with and analyze complex issues, and come up with logical, well-considered ideas, and articulate them. I did it for years, before finally deciding that all the fighting was doing nothing but making me just a tiny bit crazy. I quit blogging quite so often, thinking I just needed a little break, and ended up discovering that I could blog about happy things, and thus “Tattered ‘n Worn” made its debut in August of 2011.

I’ve continued to follow my old blogging buddies from time to time, but from afar. And I’ve continued to follow politics, keeping up on, and analyzing the issues. If I get a suspect e-mail in my inbox, I know how to follow the trail back and figure out if it is the truth or a trumped up story designed to scare people. And sometimes I’ve even found myself missing the intellectual sparring.

Now, with the election rapidly approaching, and subjects I am REALLY interested in coming back front and center, the urge to discuss/argue politics has reared its head, and I’m finding myself getting sucked back in. And it feels good.

I am going to resist the temptation to discuss the specifics of politics in this forum. It seems inappropriate for some reason to introduce the unpleasantness into this happy place.

But, in generalities, I would like to encourage all of you to study the issues and vote from a place of understanding, rather than emotion. One of the most frustrating things I have come across in political discussions is how little many know about what is really happening. The most important issues of our times are being bandied about like a football, but REAL people’s lives hinge on the decisions being made. History is being ignored and/or rewritten.

Try to get your information from more than one source, since most so called “news” these days comes from sources that, in spite of the tag-line, is anything but fair and balanced. The “news” outlets are owned by big corporations with their own agendas, and you really have to study and research to find the truth or at least something approximating it. The reality often lies between the two extremes. Be able to articulate WHY you are voting the way you are voting, and back it ups with FACTS, not innuendo or half truths. The issues we face are far more complex than what will fit on a bumper sticker.

Try to put yourself in the position of voting for a country that works for everyone, not just a few. Put the well-being of the entire country ahead of a single ideology. Put yourself in your neighbor’s shoes. Remember that our forefathers gave us the separation of church and state for a reason. Try to get past all the money being spent and determine for yourself if the ads you see are telling the truth or just a small portion of it. Please don’t let us be saddled with the best government money can buy. And most importantly, think beyond the headlines. This is all a part of being a good citizen. Compromise is not a four letter word. Our very nation is built on it – a polarized nation will not stand for long.

Thanks for letting me get up on my soapbox. I’ll try not to make a habit of it!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Beautiful post! I hope you’ve cross-posted it and shared it everywhere, because it says everything that folks like you and I feel in such a nice way. I applaud you.

    Reply
    • I have not, Lis! But if you want to link to it, I’m good with that! I have not linked my personal and political personnas, and I’d like to keep it that way for awhile. Not quite ready to come out of my little closet full force.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

