RSS Feed

How Do You Take Care of Yourself?


My friend Renee has begun a series on her blog about self-care. She has asked me to participate, but I’ve been having a hard time figuring out what I can add to the discussion.

Self-care is NOT one of my strong points.

Intellectually, I know how important it is. The airlines tell us to put our own oxygen mask first, then help others, and I know it is hard to quench anyone’s thirst from an empty well. But for some reason, I have always found it difficult to put myself first.

It has always been my MO to make sure everyone else has what they need, then make do for myself on whatever is left over. To do anything less has always felt selfish to me, and I despise the idea of being selfish.

But I’m coming to realize that it isn’t selfish at all. That in order to take care of others, you need to take care of yourself first. That doesn’t mean that you put all your WANTS ahead of filling others needs, but just that you take care of what you NEED…exercise, sleep, healthy food, quiet time, and a little time to pursue your passion.

I haven’t put together a plan yet on how I’m going to accomplish that, but I know I need to start. Life is short, and if I want to last as long as possible, I really do need to take care of myself.

So, how do you take care of yourself?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

10 responses »

  1. Yes you do need to take time for YOU – I am glad that you are starting to contemplate and work this into your life, Janet!

    Reply
  2. Janet, you are clearly a very giving person, but yes you do need to care for yourself too. It is so important and you will be teaching those sweet girls in your life how to treat themselves greatly as well when they are older. They are so lucky to have you which is another reason you should really do some great things just for you!

    Jill

    Reply
  3. Being aware – that is the first care, my love! You are wonderful. You are wise. You ARE worth it! xoxoxoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

