RSS Feed

Happy Birthday To Me!


June 21st, 2012…my 60th birthday. SIXTY! I demand a recount!

I don’t when this happened – when I went from being a relatively young woman to being 60 years old. I really can’t even wrap my head around the concept. Until I look closely in the mirror. Then I know it’s true. The face that I always thought was holding up pretty good in spite of the number of candles on the cake, is now showing the wear and tear. No one’s going to be carding me, that’s for sure.

There’s a part of me that wants to wear the wrinkles as a badge of honor…a tribute to the wisdom gained from experience. The other part of me is just bummed that it’s all come so fast. I’m not ready to slow down. There’s still so much I want to see and do. And I am feeling my mortality in a big way.

So, I’ve completed 60 years on this earth, and am beginning my 61st.  There’s no getting around it.

I can either spend my time dreading the prospect, or I can vow to make it my best year ever. I think I’ll go with best year ever.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

29 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday….I got told when I turned 60 (9 months ago) that 60 is the new 40…well as much as I would like to believe that the body betrays me. I do love this age though there is a sense of freedom. I hope you have a positivly wonderful birthday♥♥♥

    Reply
    • Thank you so much, Jan. I’m trying to pretend like 60 is the new 40! And there is much to be said for the freedom. Thanks for the positive spin!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  2. Happy Birthday, my friend, I hope your day is filled with smiles, love and moments of bliss.

    Reply
  3. Happy Birthday! You are doing amazing things in your life right now. You’ve started a new chapter and I think you are doing awesome. You make sixty look great! You go girl!

    Reply
  4. Happy Birthday, Janet! I seriously doubt that you’re going to slow down. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Hope you have a fantastic birthday, pretty lady!!

    Reply
  6. happy birthday beautiful lady! May it be your best (most creatively fulfilled) yet!! C xo

    Reply
  7. Happy Birthday Janet! Sixty really isn’t all that bad, especially when the aches and pains let up. Have a great day and a great year. Celebrate Living!

    Reply
  8. Happy Birthday Janet! You look decades younger than you are! Have a GREAT day!

    Reply
  9. Happy Birthday!!! blessings and lots of love fill this day and year for you!!
    (btw I was all about that Bluebird TC on yesterdays post!! LOVED it)

    Reply
  10. Janet – you are rocking ’60’ and I am so glad you are choosing best.year.ever! HAPPY!! oxo

    Reply
  11. Happy Birthday Janet! I hope this year brings you much health, wealth and happiness!! And I think this is a perfect year for greatness!!! 🙂 Enjoy!

    Reply
  12. Happy Birthday, my friend! Make it an awesome one!

    Reply
  13. Hope you have a wonderful day! xo

    Reply
  14. I’m right behind you! Have a great day Janet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

