RSS Feed

I am a Photographer


Yep, it is official. I may not be a “professional” photographer, but I am definitely a photographer.

pho·tog·ra·pher  [fuh-tog-ruh-fer] -n a person who takes photographs, either as a hobby or a profession.

Okay, by that definition, anyone who picks up a camera and takes a picture is a photographer.

But what has happened to me is different. I am thinking differently. I am experiencing life differently. I am practically incapable of looking at anything without figuring out how I would frame it if I had my  camera handy. And if I do have my camera, I don’t always even take the picture, I just want to see what it looks like through the lens.

I notice contrasts in everything, and wonder what objects would look like if the background was blurred just a little. I notice how the sun hits things, and wonder if the depth I see with my eye would show up in a photo.

I’m fantasizing about a $1500 lens, and considering taking a class at the local Jr. College to hone my skills. I think I already mentioned that I even bought Photoshop Elements 10 to try and digitally improve my photos. It’s getting a little crazy.

Now, I still have a passion for mixed media, and so far I’m feeling no need to even TRY to sell my photos. But this is effecting me, and I wanted to share it with you.

Anyone else experiencing this bug?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. This is how I feel since I purchased my new camera last Oct. Our local botanical gardens is having a class on photography for bloggers for only $25 next month and I’m going for it. Was going to take from our art college but it was more than I wanted to spend right now. Even Mr. Cottage yells out every now and then “get out here and bring your camera”. Love it!

    Reply
    • So far my family seems mostly annoyed, but I think they are beginning to come around to accepting it! I haven’t looked into the price for classes yet…I hope they aren’t too much! It’ll cut into my lens money!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  2. What a wonderful passion to have! Not everyone chooses to take the time to actually look at the beauty around us, never mind taking the time to capture it for others. If the above photo is any indication of what’s to come, then go for it big time !!

    Reply
  3. My goodness I love this post and how you have just claimed the title photographer. Makes me think again on how we can be whatever we want to be when our heart is already there. Thanks! I also loved the month of flowers with the grand finale of the entire picture 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

