RSS Feed

We Are What We Think


You’ve heard forever that you are what you eat. There’s some truth to that, I’m sure. You eat junk and you’re going to have an unhealthy body.

I’m imagining that we are also what we think.

If you think happy, cheerful, uplifting thoughts, aren’t you more apt to be a happy, cheerful, uplifting person?

And if you are constantly mired in dark thoughts, complaining and seeing the worst in every situation and every person, isn’t it more likely you’ll be a grouchy, unhappy, downer of a person?

One of the things I dread most about aging is the potential for becoming one of those crabby old people that no one wants to be around. You know the kind? I’m trying to be more understanding about WHY they’re like that, but nonetheless, I don’t want to be LIKE them.

Then there are the happy people, that no matter how rough things are, or how much their aches and pains wear at them, they still have a cheerful countenance. That’s what I’m shooting for!

I kinda doubt that you if you spend your younger years grouchy you’ll suddenly morph into a happy old person. So my goal is to “practice” happiness every day, to “think” happy, so that by the time I am an old person, it will just be a part of who I am.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. We were just talking about this the other day with several friends of ours. Supposedly what you’re like to be around in your 40s, 50, 60,; is pretty much how you will progress into aging. Personally, I think you and I will be just fine!

    Reply
  2. I agree with you, Janet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

