RSS Feed

Creating Happiness and Day 28 of May Flowers


I believe that happiness is a choice; a state of being that transcends circumstance. It is not a place or time to get to (as in I’ll be happy when…) but an outlook on life.

I also believe that it is something that can be LEARNED. I think you can learn to be happy if you are not, to cultivate it if you are inclined to do so.

I ran across an article in a blog that sums up very nicely my beliefs about happiness that I’d like to share with you.

This is just the list of 12 ways that happy people are different from unhappy people. In the article the author describes very well, and in a sometimes funny way what they each mean, practically speaking. It is well worth the click over and a few minutes of your time!

  1. Express gratitude.
  2. Cultivate optimism.
  3. Avoid over-thinking and social comparison.
  4. Practice acts of kindness.
  5. Nurture social relationships.
  6. Develop strategies for coping.
  7. Learn to forgive.
  8. Increase flow experiences.
  9. Savor life’s joys.
  10. Commit to your goals.
  11. Practice spirituality.
  12. Take care of your body.

**********************************

The month of flowers is rapidly winding down, and I still have so much to show you! Lori Moon, our hostess with the mostest showed us the poppies at her mom’s house, which makes me want to show you the ones I discovered just yesterday. I had forgotten I had planted some last year. They popped up through the ground cover which has taken over that area, and I hadn’t realized they’d come back! The little knobs that appear before the blossom pops looks like some kind of an alien. They are so cute. The sun was shining just right,  so you can see how thin the petals are, but I couldn’t get a good angle on it w/o laying down in the ground cover, and with my new-found fear of rattlesnakes, THAT wasn’t going to happen! Not even for a good photo!

Interestingly enough, the only yellow in the flower is in the center. I LOVE how the camera picked up the thinness of the petal with the sun shining through it as a whole different color!

Notice how the back petals are red in this one? That is the real color. You can see just a bit of the yellow on the front petals in this shot. And see the furry stems and pods? They crack me up!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. I love poppies! I can relate in a way to your fear of laying down on the ground now. When I lived in Texas I suddenly became paranoid when I was working out in the yard and my flower beds – I never would have thought twice about it when I lived in Oregon – too many creepy crawlies in Texas!

    Reply
  2. Poppies – you are so right that the buds do look like little aliens. giggle Now I’m going to click over to the happiness post that you linked. I love the list you shared above and I agree with you it can be learned.

    Reply
  3. I totally agree with you, Janet. It is a choice you can make, and a skill you can learn. Great post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

