RSS Feed

Facebook IPO and May Flowers Day 24


The month is winding down. It’s hard to believe time is flying by so fast. I’m running out of month with so many more flowers I want to show you!

Today I’m showing you my purple salvia. There are many varieties of salvia, but this is one of my favorites. It has a larger bloom than many others, and the deep purple is very dramatic, especially when paired with hot pink and white and yellow as it is in my garden.

I’m guessing most of the world knows that Facebook went public a few days ago and had a very disappointing debut. The talk on the business shows is all about the concern that Facebook will struggle with being able to make money because they have not come up with an effective way of monetizing the site on mobile devices. There was a big discussion about people being unwilling to pay for services.

Before they got very far into the discussion, I mentioned to Mr. Tattered that the people discussing it were obviously not big users (if at all.) Finally one of the panelists said that it is too a much a part of people’s lives for them to ever let it go over a few bucks, and I thought, jeez…no kidding.

I came to Facebook late, and in the beginning I rarely used it all.

But that all changed with a business art class that set up a Facebook community for class discussions, and I found my tribe.

Although some of the group have either met a few of the members, or live close enough to get together every once in awhile, we are spread all over the globe, and Facebook is our primary means of staying in touch. The core group of roughly 50-60 women visit every day off and on throughout the day and evening 7 days a week. We share our art, our lives, the trials and tribulations of child rearing, illnesses, job problems. We help each other with sources for materials, critique classes, give technical advice, and act as each others guinea pigs. We encourage, commiserate, pray for, laugh and cry with each other. We GET each other. We are friends. No, we’re family.

And without Facebook, we would not have met, and we certainly would not have a means for ongoing relationships. We are not about to let that go away. And if that means paying for it, there is no doubt in my mind, we will. And multiply that times many, many other groups across the world, and you’re talking some serious coin.

If Facebook were to start charging $10-$20 a month for access, would you pay? My answer is not just yes. It’s HELL, YES!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. Love this photo. So many happy colors. I, too, love this little group of women that we are a part of – such joy, such love. It really is a beautiful thing!

    Reply
  2. carolbray047

    I can’t imagine being without FB. It’s my best source to connect with so many of my friends and family. I hadn’t heard about them charging, but I heard rumors of it in the past. I would do it if all my friends would, too.

    Reply
    • I don’t think Facebook has suggested it yet, it’s just a way around the fact that they are having trouble monetizing the mobile use, and now that they are a publicly held company, they have to make LOTS of money!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  3. Janet, thanks for sharing your garden with us, your flowers are so beautiful. I truly enjoy my Facebook now that I have connected to this group. Again, thanks for all you do and share.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

