RSS Feed

The Artist’s Way and May Flowers Day 14


I’m having so much fun taking pictures out in the garden. It seems like every day I’m finding something new in bloom. It’s so crazy, I can walk by the same area over and over without seeing something, then all of a sudden, there it is. I also discovered that a whole patch of something I forgot I had planted last year is about to bloom, and I’m so excited. I was thinking it was something else, and when I realized what it was…well! I’m so jazzed. I can hardly wait to show you. The first bloom has appeared but I’m going to wait until there are more!

So, in the meantime, here is one of several varieties of Calabrocha (or million bells) I have going. They look like little miniature Petunias. This one is a variegated version called “sweet tart.” Makes me laugh because that’s what we used to call our daughter when she was being moody!

Have you had a chance to pop by and see any of the other floral offerings from this challenge?

On the art front, I have just started a book called the Artist’s Way. I hear a lot of my girlies talking about how much it has helped them in their creative endeavors, so I thought I’d give it a whirl. I bought it way back on April 27th and it’s taken me this long to actually start reading.

Come to find out, it requires a fair amount of work. The part I’m having the biggest problem with so far is getting up in the morning and doing “morning pages” three handwritten 8 1/2 x 11 pages of “brain dump” – just emptying out everything that is in your brain first thing in the morning, clearing the way for clearer, more creative thought.

I’ve been dragging my feet, primarily because I’m not a morning person and the idea of using my brain (even just emptying it!) before coffee is not appealing. But, I’m ready to go in the morning. Alarm already set a half an hour early. This should be interesting!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

14 responses »

  1. 3 pages IS a lot! I found setting an amount of time was much more doable than three pages. I started 5 minutes a day as “training” like with running. You can always work up to more. And who made up the rule that you can’t brain dump with a cup of coffee. I say do what works for you!

    Reply
    • Hahahaha! I had visions of waking up and writing in bed before my feet hit the floor! You mean you can actually get up and do it over coffee??? That is MUCH more doable for me! I like the way you think!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  2. Love those little flowers! Yes, I too recommend coffee while doing your morning pages. I also recommend that you write whatever comes into your head – even the ‘why am I doing this, it is too early” voice that will speak loudly. I have found that I love to do them. I am so glad that you are enjoying sharing a flower a day in May. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. These little flowers are beautiful. They make me smile. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Clare Docherty

    I’m on week 8 of the Artist’s Way (though in reality it is probably week 9 or 10, i kind of lost my way a bit a few weeks ago so I decided to repeat a couple of weeks!!). I, like you , am so not a morning person and so far I have not gotten up earlier to write my pages – I try to find time when I can (and I do drink or have breakfast while doing it!)- i take longer when i am not working and on days I need to go to work I sometimes manage less (5 minutes on the train!). I have found that i often have more to say a bit later on when I have actually woken up and my brain has started to work (that sometimes takes a few hours with me!!). I guess what I am trying to say is that we are all a bit different and so I feel that to make the commitment and to make an effort is just as important, even if we do it slightly different from what is suggested in the book. Do it in a way that is helpful or you will be more likely to give up! It HAS been very helpful for me and it has been very valuable as a healing tool. Would love to hear how you get on with it! xx

    Reply
    • I must have known you were doing it, but I’d forgotten. I will look forward to comparing notes when I have a bit of time under my belt!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  5. carolbray047

    I’m planning on you keeping us posted on how this book is stirring your art within you. I think I read or browsed through this book once and found it too much work for me at the time. (I use the library a lot to see whether or not I should get my own book). For the time being, I’ve passed on this one.

    Reply
    • I don’t think I realized just how much of a commitment it is, but we’ll see how it goes. I’d love to see myself actually start and finish something! I did my 1st “brain dump” this morning and I feel groggy!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  6. Love those flowers. I saw the pic and thought Petunias and saw a different name. But thanks for explaining the difference. Alarm half an hour early…..that’s a brave start πŸ™‚ I’m sitting a little late every night and waking a wee bit early everyday to spend time on learning art and to post to the 2 daily challenges I’ve taken up.

    Reply
    • Well, now having discussed it with a few of my girlies, I’m thinking I’ll wait and do it over coffee. Makes much more sense to my brain! I actually did my whole 3 pages this morning!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  7. Morning pages will change your life – beware!! Mostly kidding – but I think after a whie you will come to love them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

