RSS Feed

Day #11 Art Every Day Month – Canvas Progressing (and a bit of photography)


Okay, yesterday I started 4 canvases using the tutorial that my fly sister, Sally Rose put up.

It took me quite awhile to work up the courage to go back into the studio and start working (okay, playing!) today. I psyched myself out and was afraid to go any further, so, as my fly sisters will confirm, I looked for every excuse I could think of up to and including going to the gym to avoid starting. I did, however, draw the line at doing so housework, so when that was my only other option, I went ahead and did it. MAN! by the time it was time to stop and pick the kids up from school, I was pretty bummed that I hadn’t gone in an hour earlier! I didn’t want to stop.

Today I added several layers using ink, stamps, glimmer mist, paint, bubble wrap, screen, and a variety of lids.

Back in the studio tonight, I am adding more layers and playing with some possible focal point flowers. Now I am facing the difficult decision of when enough of a background is enough!

At any rate, I need to stop for awhile and let it dry so I can add a layer of gel medium and check my depth before perhaps adding a bit more paint.

A portion of my paint avoidance time today was spent out in the garden admiring the encore performance some of my flowers are making as summer gives way to fall, and photographing it. I’m loving playing with the settings on the camera and experimenting with different perspectives.

 

 

And then a bit more of the fall color…

AND, you never can tell what you’ll find when you clean out the trunk of your car!

Love, love, love, but I think I need one more. I just hate even numbers!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

36 responses »

  1. I like what you are doing with those canvases!

    Reply
  2. The canvases look great Janet πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. I think your journal pages look perfectly beautiful! Love them!

    Reply
  4. Those are beautiful canvases Janet! I also LOVE your flower pictures;D I can’t imagine having such beautiful flowers around my house.

    Reply
  5. Ha, we have some of the same rubber stamps! You are doing a great job, I can’t wait to see what comes next. I love the canvases, the pictures and those cute metal flowers in your garden, Janet!

    Reply
    • Well, tomorrow I give it a coat of matte gel, then figure out my last coats of paint, then figure out what I want to do for the focals and words. I don’t have a real clear picture yet! Hahaha!

      Reply
  6. Janet, your canvas is lookin great- loving watch it develop! You are inspiring me but also scaring me at the same time with all this motivation!! Lol
    Clare x

    Reply
  7. The canvases are looking good.

    See, there’s a plus side to housework – it makes you create πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. The canvases are coming on nicely. I like the colours you have chosen, there.
    The photos are lovely too.
    Gwen xx

    Reply
  9. Love what you’re doing here. So inspirining!

    Reply
  10. LoVe the layers of this canvas! And your photos are amazing, such gorgeous flowers πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. Great canvases !! That first flower is totally amazing :0)

    Reply
  12. The progress on the canvases is looking good. Happy Weekend!

    Reply
  13. Canvas’s looking lovely, you have been busy. Love the flowers, they do lift the spirits! Blessings, amanda

    Reply
    • Thank you Amanda! Went in to add some paint this morning and realized I forgot to add the coat of gel last night! So, I’m a bit behind today! I may need to come up with another project for today!

      Reply
  14. The canvas pieces are looking great, Janet! The flower pics are beautiful…loved the anemone flower! Oh yes, I like odd numbers….according to Ikebana flower arranging techniques, odd numbers are more pleasing to the eye and better balanced.

    Happy AEDM,
    Serena

    Reply
  15. I love where your painting is going and those flower photos were really breathtaking… I loved them xx

    Reply
  16. Love the paintings – it will be fun to see where they go! What kind of flower is in the first photo (the purple-pink one)? It has such a personality!

    Reply
  17. Janet,

    I am reading backwards… Oooohhhh I love what you have done & I am so sad that they were messed up! Ugh! Way to have a great attitude about it!

    Hogs & Love!!
    Oops! Lol Hugs & Love! Hee hee!

    πŸ™‚ Kris

    Reply
    • I’ve got tons of paper, which is really all I lost. The time was well spent, so, no big deal. Although I have to admit I would have loved to hit a home run my first time out! Heeheehee!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

