RSS Feed

Hobby Lobby (you think I’m kidding?)


Blogtoberfest Day #25

You’d think if I was blogging about a chain craft store, I must be short on things to blog about, but you’d be wrong. I mean, seriously, who blogs about Hobby Lobby?

Um, that would be me. It apparently just opened this weekend, without much fanfare, I might add. I heard about it at the scrapbook show I was at over the weekend. The people I bought the bubble tool from told me about it. When I rolled in at 1am Sunday morning I got on line to see if it was true. It was, but they are closed on Sunday, so I impatiently waited until Monday morning to make the twenty minute trek. It has immediately become my very favorite craft store of all time. Man,  just the sheer size of the place blew me away.

It was the shopping experience of the month. Maybe even longer. Sometime during my wandering I think I passed out from sheer joy, then when I regained conscientiousness I wondered for a moment if those “when Harry met Sally” noises had come out of my mouth or were just running around making a ruckus in my head. It was that good. And I wasn’t the only one. There were women everywhere with loaded shopping carts and euphoric looks on their faces.

I never made it to the scrapbooking, beading or Christmas sections, let alone fabric or yarn, before I ran out of time. And I didn’t even get what I went there for (ATC sleeves.) Every aisle was a new delight. It was as if their buyers had crawled into my head and bought everything at market that they knew I would just have to have.

They had lots of red…

…and chickens.

 

 

And that’s not the half of it! And every single thing I bought was either 40% or 50% off. I didn’t even get to use my 40% off coupon. Given another half hour, and I would have needed a second shopping cart. I’m so embarrassed.

Now I’m feverishly trying to figure out how and when I can get back over there as quickly as possible to do it again…I mean I need to get what I went there for…right?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

28 responses »

  1. I too just discovered this store, they opened recently in Spokane, which for me is a 4 hour drive. So I went two days in a row while visiting family, and my mind went into overdrive, tried to download too much at once and promptly crashed! I needed to get out and reboot, and am now making it one of my must go to stores when I climb out of the boondocks and visit the big city. I love that you blogged about it!

    Reply
    • Well, I’ll tell you, the folks back east have done a good job of keeping this secret! I had no idea what I was going into. I expected just another Michael’s or JoAnne’s, and I couldn’t have been more wrong! Glad you get to experience it from time to time!

      Reply
  2. Wow, I don’t think we have anything like this in Australia. Sooooo jealous….

    Reply
  3. Omg! SOO jealous! I wanna Hobby Lobby! I must make a pilgrimage to the nearest one, wherever it may be. Looks outrageous, Janet!

    Reply
    • It totally is. Now I know its newness is part of the attraction…no old merchandise, everything clean and up to date, but I would think even older ones would be nice. This one would be worth driving a couple of hours to. Then lunch out, make a day of it! You’ll enjoy!

      Reply
  4. This looks totally amazing!!! I have a Hobbycrafts store nearby which is nice but nothing in comparison to the scale of Hobby Lobby!! Everyrthing is so much bigger in the US. Mind you, i would just spend too much money and have nowhere to store all the stuff I bought, so it’s probably a blessing!

    Reply
  5. I have only one question – are you ready to build another storage shed? I am seriously in rearrange mode – we have a Hobby Lobby, JoAnn’s and Michaels – all within 5 to 10 minues from me. We may have to start some sort of AA for craft addicts!

    Reply
  6. P.S. This was a very funny post, Janet. You nailed ALL the feelings I have upon entering one of these stores, and then having the time to just wander. What joy.

    Reply
    • I don’t know if I am capable of just window shopping…plus I’m pretty sure that when they realize it is me leaving slobber all over their stores I’ll get banned! Seriously, you would have cracked up seeing me shove things into the cart Or cried. You might have cried to see me acting so crazy! Or, you might have been just as ridiculous as I was right beside me!

      Reply
  7. Wow! All I can think right now is I am thankful that we don’t have one here, because I would go broke! Secretly looking forward to visiting one though 🙂

    Reply
    • I know, huh? I may end up wishing this one never opened! Great selection + great prices = disaster for me! But you know, someone has to jump=start this economy! Hahahaha! Thanks a lot for coming by!

      Reply
  8. Janet, I have to laugh at your reaction to Hobby Lobby because that’s exactly how I felt the first time I walked into one. I hate to tell you, but we’ve have one about 5 minutes from our house and it’s been there for about 4-5 years. There’s a Michaels just around the corner from them and they’re moving Joann’s about 2 minutes from our house. I’m a happy camper (or artist).

    Reply
    • I have to hope the newness will wear off and I won’t feel so compelled to live there! I think this will do serious damage to our JoAnne’s and MIchael’s. Both are closer to me, but I’ll drive twice the time to get to Hobby Lobby in a heart beat. So, unless I need something really quickly, or HL doesn’t carry it, those 2 places will be seeing lots less of my money =(

      Reply
  9. We have a Hobby Lobby that opened about a year ago… the do have a bit of everything and you spend a bit of money on everything… Your’s looks like it is way bigger than the one where I live… it must be a superstore 🙂

    Reply
    • That’s good to know, Karen! I knew JoAnne’s had some small stores and some superstores, but this was my first experience with Hobby Lobby, so I just assumed they were all huge. Really, it was overwhelming! I’m going back today!

      Reply
  10. Janet – – -great post! I’m a little jealous. I’m sure there is one near NYC but without a car and definitely without a larger apartment there is no way my boyfriend would ever let me near a Hobby Lobby!

    Reply
    • As much as I think I would like to live in NYC, I know I could never afford to have as much space as I would need! So you can be jealous of of me having Hobby Lobby and I’ll be jealous of you having so many vegetarian food options!

      Reply
  11. I don’t have one near me which is a good thing. AC Moore gets all my money. They give $10 in AC Moore money for every $200 I spend. They have double points days too. A Hobby Lobby might push me over the edge. I’d love a fine art store closer to me though.

    Reply
  12. Janet-I’ve been to our Hobby Lobby once only–it’s about an hour away. Needless to say, like you I was in awe. My ten-year-old daughter was too–they have tons of Paris-themed stuff and we just re-decorated her room with a Paris theme–glad you reminded me–gotta get there again and pick up a few cute items for her. One of your pictures showed knobs too–yeah–I want to add funky knobs to change up her dressers as well–thanks for sharing!

    Jill

    Reply
    • You are welcome, Jill. I saw that Paris stuff…very cute! The selection of knobs was incredible…rivaled Anthropologie at better prices! And I’m sure they’ll go on sale! My girls are going to love it, too!

      Reply
  13. I love Hobby Lobby, too. They carry a lot more than Michaels and definitely more fine art materials than JoAnns. Fun post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

