RSS Feed

The Color Red


Blogtoberfest Day #4

If you’re returning for Day 4, thank you for sticking with me! If you’re new, there’s lots before this if you want to catch up!

Today I’m exploring my favorite color…Red. The color of passion. Like pink was Shelby’s signature color in “Steel Magnolias,” red has become mine.

I don’t remember exactly when it happened. I used to be a blue person. Then all of a sudden everything I REALLY liked was red. When I go shopping, I scan for red, and if I see it, I stop to see if it’s something I need (get that? Need?) Sometimes I succumb even if it’s a want. I mean, after all, if it’s red…

I think it started with red toenail polish.

And of course, red toenails looked really nice in red shoes. I just love red shoes. One year when we were in Maui for our annual trip, my husband’s sister and her husband joined us for a week. We went shopping one day and I found a pair of red sandals I was just drooling over, but I was hesitating, knowing my husband was NOT going to be happy about it. She encouraged me to buy them, saying everyone needs a pair of red shoes. I finally relented and bought them, then called my husband to pre-flight him. I figured if he knew in advance that maybe he’d quit being mad by the time we got to the house. On the way back she was saying how wrong it was for him to be so mad, and I said, “well…I already have 10 pairs.” She almost died laughing!

And of course, if you’re going to have red shoes, you need red clothes, and red jewelry, and red purses…

And then I collect hearts (which are, of course, mostly red)

Then we bought a second home (keeping the paid for one in the mountains where we used to live as a summer house) and I got to furnish from the ground up. That meant selecting a color palette. I settled on beige, brown, black, white and RED. Now, I really didn’t get TOO crazy. I used the neutrals for the backdrop (carpet, paint, tile, granite) and accented with red…

…and accented,

…and accented,

…and accented,

…and accented.

I measure with it,

mix in it,

serve in it,

and on it.

I drink out of it,

and even sleep in it…

It followed me out into the garden, as well…

This is by no means all of it, but you get the picture. I like the color red. A lot.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

16 responses »

  1. Okay Janet, you crack me up with the red! That is awesome AND every woman deserves 10 pairs of red shoes!!! Love it! It is fun to get a peek into your life!
    🙂 Kris

    Reply
    • I know, huh? Just a little crazy. Seeing it all there in living color and realizing what a small portion of it I highlighted left me laughing like crazy! No wonder my family wonders about my sanity!

      Reply
  2. And what is your favorite color? Great post.

    Reply
  3. Janet you need to invest in new garden shoes!!! They are looking more pink!!!! Love YA!

    Reply
    • I’m trying, but I can’t find any that are the right color! So many boring people out there. The good news is, I took the photo in bright sunlight. They are really a little darker than they look! Thanks for stopping by! xo

      Reply
  4. Red is hot, you’re ahead of your time, yo go girl!

    Reply
  5. You are just a red hot mama! I think there may be a Latina in there somewhere in your soul!
    The pics are so funny, when I got to the mixer, that when I just cracked up and lost it. Loved this post.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Deb! That mixer is my pride and joy. I wanted it so bad, and was having a hard time justifying it, when all of a sudden it went on sale at Bed, Bath and Beyond for a pretty good price, and I had a 20% off coupon on top of that. It was like the universe saying "you deserve it!" Glad you enjoyed the post!

      Reply
  6. Red is my favorite color, too. Love your post.

    Reply
  7. looks like you have a wonderful life xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

