RSS Feed

Day 6 Of My Incarceration


I broke my ankle last week. I wish I had a really cool story to go along with it, but the truth of the matter is I stepped wrong and cracked that little bone that sticks out on the outside of your ankle. First broken bone in my life and I’m not handling it well.

I guess they don’t cast you anymore until the swelling goes down, so I’ve been confined to my recliner, for the most part, and it might as well be jail. In fact, had I been contemplating a life of crime, I would now be “scared straight” because I know confinement is not for me and I’ll do whatever I can to avoid it!

incarceration2-w

 

Fortunately we were able to improvise a walker when we got home from urgent care, using the foot stool from the patio set, so at least I was able to get around when I HAD to. See, there’s that creativity at work, again!

incarceration3-w

Then I graduated to crutches, but to be honest, the quickest way around was hands and knees (which just cracked the kids up!) until I wore the skin off my knee, then it was back to crutches again.

incarceration-w

Unfortunately, it’s easier and safer just to stay put!

I’ve been a little grouchy about the whole thing because I’m used to being on the move, and my life isn’t set up for being an invalid. Everything (especially my art supplies) is all over the place, and too high for me to reach from a sitting down position, so being in the workroom isn’t practical.

I would have lost my mind had it not been for the on-line creative business class I’m taking with Kelly Rae Roberts (one of my favorite artists on the planet!) and the group of super talented women she has connected with a special Facebook page. A shout out to them “Thanks, guys! You’re preserving my sanity!”

So, the silver lining in all of this is that I’ve had time to work on our lessons, scour the internet for more information, add enhancements to my blog, set up an Etsy store for future use, and make copious notes for projects I want to work on when I regain my mobility!

Additionally, I have a whole new appreciation for what people who are permanently dis-abled have go to through to live their lives. I doubt I will ever take one of my limbs for granted again. And I will most definitely add good health and mobility to my gratitude list!

So, this creative journey has taken a little detour while I’m incarcerated, and hopefully with a little time off for good behavior, I’ll be on to projects and some things to show you before too awful long!

****FRIDAY UPDATE!!!!! I didn’t need a cast, just a boot! I’m so excited! In 3 weeks I may need no more than an ankle brace. This is VERY good news, and I’m feeling like a very lucky (and grateful!) girl!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. Oh My Gosh Janet!! I can feel your pain!! I broke a bone in my right hand last fall! It was so hard! I can’t wait to meet you at TCC! hopefully you will be in a cast!!! Can’t wait to meet you!

    Kris Lanae
    http://www.cherishdesigns.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • Thanks Kris! I find out tomorrow! I’m keeping my fingers crossed. I get more excited about TCC every day. Kelly’s class has been so inspirational, and now TCC. If all this is not enough to get me going on a second creative career, then it really is not meant to be! Congrats on all your good news!

      Reply
  2. Way to keep a positive attitude – great post. Sorry you are having to deal with this, but like you said, at least you have KRR and the rest of us to keep you busy!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Kathleen! I am having a REALLY hard time staying down, but tomorrow I should get a reprieve (please God!) Then I have to give the house a lick and a promise, then I plan to spend most of the weekend in my workroom! I’m about to explode with all the ideas in my head!

      Reply
  3. Janet – hope you will heal quickly. Our flying group is a big support in many ways – aren’t we all lucky. Best to you, Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

