Home Is Where Your Story Begins


In my last post I introduced you to my garden, so it follows that you should also meet my actual home before delving into the rest of my “story.”

5 years ago we moved away from the place that had been our home for 25 years. We were fortunate enough to be able to keep the house as a vacation home (it was paid for!) and buy a new one near our children and grandchild. As scary as it was to relocate, the upside was, I got to furnish from top to bottom and everything in between, with the exception of a few pieces I loved enough to incorporate in the new house. It was almost like getting married and getting everything on our gift registry! My tastes have changed a lot over the years, and it was great to be able update with shabbier stuff! How funny does that sound?

The down side was that I was not in the “creative mode” at the time so most everything I’ve decorated with is not my work, and that will have to change (or at least get added to!)

It’s a pretty unassuming little tract house; the perfect size for 2 people. But it’s major selling point for me was the location…tucked in at the bottom of a beautiful hill, so we get the illusion of country living in the outskirts of a big city, and only a mile from my kiddles!

My favorite room in the house is the “gathering room” right off the large, sunny kitchen. This is the place where we spend the most of our time.

It’s also where most of my “chickens” live! They roost above the entertainment center and over the cabinets all along the kitchen.  They hang on the walls and tuck into all the nooks and crannies.

They’ve even found their way into the entryway and the bathroom!

All of my little treasures have been found at little gift boutiques.

Some are handmade, and some are just mass produced, but so cute I couldn’t resist them.

I keep thinking I need to stop, but then I find another I just have to have, so I find a spot for it but then the area is a little off-balance so I need just one more thing to make it look right.

I can ALWAYS justify another chicken!

I really like the ratty looking table I found for the entryway. It has storage drawers, so it is practical, but it gives me yet another place to store my little treasures.

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, the authentic old bobbins. I’ve had them for 25 years, and they were old before that!

Wall words are another of my favorite decorator items.I have them in almost every room of the house!

          

My angels are right at home in my shabby guest room.

All of these have been purchased at little boutiques or craft shows.

But I have so many ideas for ones I want to create that I’m not sure where I will put them all!

I hope you’ll come back to check on my progress!

Well, like my tour of the garden, there is so much more to show you, but I’ll save it for another post.

Hope to see you soon!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

12 responses »

  1. I was just thinking you needed another chicken when I was over the other day

    Reply
  2. I love seeing inside people’s homes! Yours looks ultra cozy and sweet. Thanks for the guided tour, and your blog is off to a GREAT start!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Amy! It’s not darling like yours! But after looking at what it takes to do a custom background, my eyes glazed over and all of a sudden I started loving simple! Hahahaha!

      Reply
  3. you’ve done a beautiful job with your home 🙂 i can’t decorate my living space to save my life, lol, so I always enjoy looking at what others do with their own space. Loving the blog! Great work 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you, Cambria! Coming from a retail background helps a lot. My house looks like a less crowded version of my store. If I didn’t have a family to consider, it would look JUST like it! Heeheehee!

      Reply
  4. I felt like I was walking through your house with you. Brava on your blogging launch!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Betsy. It’s pretty primitive, but it’s a start. If I waited until I thought it was “good enough” I’d never do it. Plus, it’s about the journey, so it needed to start at the beginning, not in the middle, right?

      Reply
  5. Thank you for the comment! You have a LOVELY blog, and an AMAZING sense of style, very homey!! Do you take houseguests? LOL!!

    Anyway, I look forward to hearing more about your story!!
    ~Christina 😉

    Reply
    • Thank you, Christina! I am in the process of working on my “dream” list, thanks to you! As I am quite a few years further ahead of you in my life, I am including a list of past accomplishments, partly in gratitude for those things, and partly because if I didn’t my list would look I was ignoring a whole lot of things that I would have wanted on my list had I created it earlier in life. Thank you so much for being such an inspiration!

      Reply
  6. Love your blog, Janet! I enjoyed the glimpse of your treasures and garden. All so beautiful! That home quote is one of my favorites. So happy to share this journey with you. See you around…:)

    Reply

Leave a comment