RSS Feed

Giving Flight, Giving Back , Giving Thanks


I hope you aren’t getting tired of hearing my praises for my Fly Tribe. We are celebrating our one year anniversary as a group, and are participating in a a special blog hop as a part of that celebration!

We banded together as a bunch of fledgling entrepreneurs/wanna be entrepreneurs, under the guidance of our esteemed leader, Kelly Rae Roberts, for her Flying Lessons E-course. We quickly bonded into an amazing, awesome group of friends, helping each other, not only with the class, but getting through the trials and tribulations of life. The words “amazing” and awesome are way over used these days, but I can’t think of a better way of describing it.

GIVING FLIGHT -

So, as we contemplated our anniversary, we knew we wanted to somehow “give back” some of the joy and knowledge that has been given to us. Kelly Rae is about to start her third, and final Flying Lessons course (the e-book will still be available, but not the full blown class) and we thought what better way than to donate a free class. When we approached Kelly Rae with the idea, she loved it, and offered to match course for course. So, this remarkable group raised enough for 8 classes, and with Kelly Rae’s match, we will giving away 16 classes!

If you’d like to win one of these classes go to our blog for information on how to enter. The link will go live at midnight Central time August 20th. Be sure to Visit Kelly Rae’s Blog if you’d like to see what the class is all about. Trust me, if you have a creative business, or are contemplating opening one, it will be one of the best things you can do for yourself.

GIVING BACK -

My giving back these days revolves around passing down a love of art and creativity to my granddaughters. At the ages of 4 and 7, they are already learning how to do mixed media art, and have done their own canvases for their parents. They collect and “up-cycle” and light up whenever I suggest a new technique or project. They will remember these times for the rest of their lives, and hopefully will make creativity a part of their daily lives.

Giving Thanks -

I’d like to thank Kelly Rae for her generous spirit in being willing to give to others the information she had to search out for herself. There are many people out there who want to jealously guard their hard learned lessons, but Kelly Rae has put it all out there, nurturing a huge number of people in their pursuit of their dreams.

I’d like to thank my fellow flyers. My goodness. I don’t how far I would have gotten with my creative dreams had they not been willing to shepherd me through my fears and insecurities, teaching me so much about all the technical aspects of starting a blog, opening an Etsy store, recommending art classes, encouraging me to pick up a paintbrush. They even gave me the courage to pursue an unpaid internship working with Kelly Rae on a project that I NEVER would have done without their support.

And I would be remiss if I didn’t thank God (literally every day) for giving me a creative spirit, and directing me toward these women who have come to mean so much to me!

If you have some time, please stop by and visit some of their blogs to see what “Giving Back” has meant to them. They are some of the most talented women around, and certainly the best friends! Leave a comment if you would…they’d like to know you were there!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

65 responses »

  1. Ms Beautiful Janet… You are giving your Grandkids such incredible memories and creative tools. You are the best Nana! Your work is beautiful, and you have such a gift for writing! I am thankful to call you friend! :-) Thanks for all of your encouragement and support!
    Kris

    Reply
  2. Hi sweetie! You sharing your creativity with your grandchildren is unmeasurable! What a great lady you are!

    Reply
  3. What a beautiful gift you are giving your granddaughters. I love it. And what an amazing tribe you found in Kelly Rae’s e-course Flying Lessons… I love how this amazing group of woman wanted to give back by sponsoring 8 people to a free lesson. I love it.
    I just signed up a few days ago for her upcoming Flying Lessons class, do you know if I could enter still and have a chance to win instead… if I was one of the lucky one that is? ;)

    Reply
  4. I love the way you are teaching your grandchildren – that is a gift that will live forever!

    Reply
  5. Beautiful post, Janet! Your granddaughters are adorable and I love how you are sharing with them what you’ve learned while building wonderful memories.

    So happy to be in this tribe with you! ((hugs))

    Reply
  6. It’s been such a joy flying with you! What fun we have had this past year, here’s the the next year of great things to come! xo

    Reply
  7. I love the work you do and LOVE this post about giving back to your grandkids. You are doing so much beautiful good in the world, Janet! So glad to have met you through this fabulous group!!! :-)

    Reply
    • The feeling is mutual! I absolutely treasure this group. I fret about FB going under and how I would cope with not having an easy way to keep in touch with everyone…

      ________________________________

      Reply
  8. It has been quite a journey, hasn’t it! So glad to be on it with you with your wonderful wit and wisdom! xo Kathleen

    Reply
  9. What a great way to get the grandkids interested in creativity….love it!

    Reply
  10. Janet, I think it’s awesome that you are sharing your creativity with your granddaughters! I am so happy to be “flying” with you, and so grateful to be a part of this tribe! XO, Mary

    Reply
  11. Passing it on to the grandkids and making some fabulous memories for them. Happy Anniversary Fly Sister!

    Reply
  12. Janet – What a wonderful heartfelt post. This group is truly amazing and brings so much into each of our lives. How special to share the gift of creativity with your granddaughters.

    Reply
  13. Thanks for sharing your generous spirit!

    Reply
  14. Hi Janet, You’re fun, energetic, loving and real. And I’m so glad I know you. I can hardly wait to see the fantastic work you’ve done on the magazine. There are big, big things ahead for you!
    xo Lenore

    Reply
  15. Passing your passion on to your granddaughters is great. Thank you for being a supportive and inspirational member of our wonderful tribe.

    Reply
  16. It is a pleasure to be bloggy twins with you, Janet. You are a great Gaga. They are lucky to have you and your creative spirit in their lives everyday. xoxo L

    Reply
  17. This is an amazing gift you have all put together! I am going to run over and submit my name but since I’ve already signed up I’ll pay it forward to a friend if I’m lucky enough to win!! Thanks for your generosity!

    Reply
    • You are SOOOO welcome! I’m just thrilled you are taking the class. You will not only love it, you will be forever changed by the gals you hook up with! I hope at some time Kelly Rae will add an alumni page so we can all spend time together there!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  18. Love your work and how you are giving back to your grandkids. This is an awesome group you are a part of! I entered to win a scholarship!

    Reply
    • Pam, I’m so glad! If you don’t win, I hope you’ll consider taking the class anyway! I can’t tell you what a HUGE difference it has made in my life! Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  19. Love that you are giving this time to your grandkids..inspiring them to create create create…you know this is going to lead to making the world a little more beautiful! :)Thanks Janet for your friendship, encouragement, and support!!! It’s a great feeling being part of this group!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Stacey. It’s a wonderful part of my legacy, and Kelly Rae’s as well. If she hadn’t inspired me, I likely would not be inspiring them! It’s an amazing trickle-down! I’m so glad we are a part of the same tribe!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  20. I had to come and check out the blogs on the hop because I am so blown away by your generosity and kindness. I hope to win a spot, but even if I don’t, 16 people will, you will change those 16 people’s lives, and who knows how many THEY will change! What a wonderful thing that is!

    God bless you,
    Maureen

    Reply
  21. Mary Kaye Wells

    I see all these gracious comments and I’m brought to tears. Of gratitude for a like-minded soul who gets the importance of legacy. My legacy are my fabulous nephews. And tears of fear that I won’t get a sponsorship. I don’t know what else to say. This is so moving that alumni have made such a generous offer. I’m overwhelmed.

    Reply
  22. Hi Janet! Happy Anniversary!! You are such a great role model for your grand daughters, I can only imagine how awesome they will be when they grow up! Just like their Grandma!!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Ursula! Mr. Tattered pretends to stick his finger down his throat and gag when he hears them say they want to be just like Gaga! I hope they can take after my good parts, and leave the not-so-good behind.

      ________________________________

      Reply
  23. Pingback: A Little Inspiration Deck Love « Tattered 'n Worn

  24. What a lovely post. Yes, your granddaughters will cherish these times. I don’t have a lot of memories of either of my grandmothers — something like this would have been so special! I do remember making minced meat (from scratch!) with my grandmother, stirring and stirring as the mixture bubbled it’s enticing aroma throughout her small home. It’s my favorite memory of time spent with her. Creative memories ROCK!

    Reply
  25. Dear Janet, Its lovely to be flying with you, and your art and blogging are really inspiring!! How wonderful that you are teaching art to your grandchildren. I love the art they made especially the handprint! I am sure they will always remember these treasured times with you. Happy Anniversary! xo

    Reply
  26. Pingback: September ATCs « Tattered 'n Worn

  27. Janet, you are last, but certainly not least! I worked my way bottom to top, I made it! I love your daily posts, I look forward to them in my mailbox. They never fail to make me smile and inspire me to improve. You have been my biggest cheerleader, and are always so positive, even through some pretty major tribulation. You are awesome! Happy Anniversary!

    Reply
  28. Pingback: I Think It Grew Legs and Walked Away « Tattered 'n Worn

  29. Pingback: I have a Confession… « Tattered 'n Worn

  30. I think it is awesome that you are part of the Fly Tribe and that you are paying it forward! Best wishes to you on your journey!

    Reply
  31. Pingback: Sort, Toss, Organize « Tattered 'n Worn

  32. Janet, I love and am a faithful reader of your blog. I love your stories about your two adorable granddaughters — always touches my heart. This has been a very special year in my life, and I am so thankful for our group. I’m blessed to be able to call you friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

